Townsville Diocesan Council

About Us

The Diocesan Council develops policy from input from the local associations and collaborates and cooperates with the Bishop, Catholic Education authorities and schools. It provides support, information, guidance and encouragement to the local associations and education authorities, plans and organises seminars and conferences and supports the work of the Federation. Each local Association is urged to actively participate in the Diocesan Council. Each school is entitled to representation by two delegates and observers.

The Townsville Diocese has 33 Catholic schools made up of 21 primary, 9 high schools and 3 P-12 colleges.

Click here for the Townsville Diocesan Constitution


Diocesan Council Executive




 Chair  John Hathaway   St Margaret Mary's College, Townsville
 Deputy-chair    Helen Stokes  Gilroy Santa Maria College, Ingham
 Secretary  Sue Chapman St Patrick's College, Townsville
 Treasurer  Samantha Espe    Gilroy Santa Maria College, Ingham

State Committee Delegates

 John Hathaway and Mary Gunn


Link to Townsville Catholic Education Office


Key Links