Daniel Morcombe Child Safety Curriculum

The Department of Education, Training and Employment, in partnership with the Daniel Morcombe Foundation, has developed the Daniel Morcombe Child Safety Curriculum.

The Curriculum consists of classroom lessons across three phases of learning: Prep - Year 2 , Years 3 - 6 and Years 7 - 9.

The Curriculum is available to all Queensland schools and aims to teach children about personal safety and awareness, including cybersafety and phone safety, by focusing on three key safety messages: Recognise, React and Report.

The Curriculum was developed in consultation with Bruce and Denise Morcombe, the Commissioner for Children and Young People and Child Guardian and representatives from the Department of Education, Training and Employment, Queensland Police Service, and the Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services, as well as experts in child safety education.


Parent guides for Prep - Year 2 , Year 3 - Year 6 and Year 7 - Year 9 have been developed to inform parents about the Curriculum and to help them reinforce the key safety messages at home.

Click here for further information 

Key Links